The Mightiest Magpies: The Story of Every Collingwood Premiership Season - 1896-2010

Author(s): Michael Roberts


Collingwood. You love 'em or hate 'em. If you love them, then you're part of the Magpie Army and will welcome this book, the story behind every Collingwood premiership win since 1896. Collingwood joined the (then) VFA in 1892, winning their first premiership in just their fifth season. Moving to the new competition - the VFL, precursor to the AFL - Collingwood started their reign as the biggest club with the most supporters and the most grand final appearances, winning fifteen more glorious flags. Each premiership season is unique, yet each bears the Collingwood stamp in some way. Whether it's a gritty team win, a come-from-behind victory, a triumph of the underdog, or the brilliance of a well-drilled and talented team, Michael Roberts recreates each season in this great tale of sustained success. With over 300 photos throughout, from action shots and memorabilia to team photos, every chapter is a perfect snapshot of a road to victory.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Michael Roberts has written several books on Australian Rules football, including 1998's High Flyers: The Greatest Marks of All Time, and was the pictorial editor for 100 Years of Australian Football, the AFL's Centenary book.

General Fields

  • : 9781921518775
  • : Penguin Books Australia
  • : Michael Joseph
  • : July 2011
  • : Australia
  • : July 2011
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 352
  • : 1
  • : Hardback
  • : Michael Roberts