Nest: The Art Of Birds

Author: Janine Burke
Homepage_9781743318683

Stock information

General Fields

  • : $24.99(AUD)
  • : 9781743318683
  • : Allen & Unwin
  • : Allen & Unwin
  • :
  • :
  • : July 2013
  • :
  • : Australia
  • : 24.99
  • : October 2013
  • :
  • :
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Janine Burke
  • : Paperback
  • : 1013
  • : 192
  • :
Barcode 9781743318683
9781743318683

Description

As an amateur naturalist and nature lover, Janine Burke, art historian and author, has spent many years observing birds. Nest: The Art of Birds is the story of her passion, a personal, wide-ranging and intimate book - part natural history, part folklore, part exploration of art and aesthetics, part memoir - that will appeal to all those who love nature, literature and art. What are nests if not art created by nature? If a nest is not art, how can we account for those exquisite, painstakingly constructed creations that are decorated, or woven through with feathers, or studded with objects of a particular colour or sheen? Nest reveals both the art and mystery found in nature and celebrates them with lyricism, insight and great affection. In the tradition of Longitude, Cod or The Cello Suites, Nest: The Art of Birds is a short education that encompasses celebration and theory, investigation and memoir, the familiar and the revelatory - as surprising and enticing as any beautiful, intricately constructed nest.