A History of the English-Speaking Peoples: The New World: Volume II

Author(s): Sir Winston S. Churchill

Popular History

This history will endure; not only because Sir Winston has written it, but also because of its own inherent virtues - its narrative power, its fine judgment of war and politics, of soldiers and statesmen, and even more because it reflects a tradition of what Englishmen in the hey-day of their empire thought and felt about their country's past. The Daily Telegraph

Spanning four volumes and many centuries of history, from Caesar's invasion of Britain to the start of World War I, A History of the English-Speaking Peoples stands as one of Winston Churchill's most magnificent literary works. Begun during Churchill's 'wilderness years' when he was out of government, first published in 1956 after his leadership through the darkest days of World War II had cemented his place in history and completed when Churchill was in his 80s, it remains to this day a compelling and vivid history.

The second volume - The New World - explores the emergence of Britain on the world stage and a turbulent period at home- from Henry VIII's break with Rome and the English Reformation to the fending off of the Spanish Armada and the schism between parliament and crown that led to the civil war, the fall and rise of the monarchy and the rule of Oliver Cromwell. The book also covers the historic journey of the 'Mayflower' that saw the English-speaking peoples' arrival in the Americas.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

In the second volume of his history of the English-speaking peoples, Sir Winston S. Churchill chronicles Britain's colonial expansion to America and the dawn of the British Empire as well as the schism between parliament and the crown at home.

Sir Winston S. Churchill (1874-1965) was Prime Minister of the United Kingdom on two occasions, from 1940-1945 and again from 1951 to 1955. Celebrated as one of the greatest leaders of the twentieth century, he was also a gifted orator, statesman and historian. The author of more than 40 books, he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1953 and in 1963 was made an honorary citizen of the United States.

Preface Maps and Genealogical Tables Book IV: Renaissance and Reformation 1. The Round World 2. The Tudor Dynasty 3. King Henry VIII 4. Cardinal Wolsey 5. The Break with Rome 6. The End of the Monasteries 7. The Protestant Struggle 8. Good Queen Bess 9. The Spanish Armada 10. Gloriana Book V: The Civil War 1. The United Crowns 2. The 'Mayflower' 3. Charles I and Buckingham 4. The Personal Rule 5. The Revolt of Parliament 6. The Great Rebellion 7. Marston Moor and Naseby 8. The Axe Falls Book VI: The Restoration 1. The English Republic 2. The Lord Protector 3. The Restoration 4. The Merry Monarch 5. The Popish Plot 6. Whig and Tory 7. The Catholic King 8. The Revolution of 1688 Index

General Fields

  • : 9781472585493
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Academic
  • : 0.482
  • : March 2015
  • : 234mm X 156mm X 19mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 432
  • : Paperback
  • : Sir Winston S. Churchill