The Fleurville Trilogy (Sophie's Misfortunes, Camille & Madeleine, The Holidays)

Author(s): Comtesse De Segur

Kid's Classics

These three hugely successful, humorous French classics - Sophie's Misfortunes, Camille and Madeleine and The Holidays - are now available in one volume. Sophie's Misfortunes: Sophie is a naughty little girl who delights in disobeying her mother and engaging in mischievous pranks. Why can't she be as well behaved as her cousin Paul and her two sensible friends, Camille and Madeleine? Camille and Madeleine: Camille and Madeleine are perfect little girls, beautifully behaved and wise beyond their years living with their mother at Chateau Fleurville. Another little girl, Margeurite, and her widowed mother come to stay and Sophie, now orphaned, is 'adopted' into the family. Soon all four girls become firm friends. Through their adventures all four learn steadfast loyalty and how to take responsibility for their actions. The Holidays: Camille, Madeleine, Marguerite and Sophie are waiting excitedly for their cousins to arrive for the summer holidays. The children fill their days building cabins, having picnics and playing games. Sophie is involved in another misadventure when she hides in a hollowed out tree trunk and cannot climb out! The highlight of the holidays is the unexpected return of Sophie's mother and cousin Paul. They had escaped the shipwreck in which they were thought to have drowned and had made their way to a foreign land. The children are enthralled by the Crusoe-like tales of survival and adventure.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

The Fleurville Trilogy was written in France by Sophie Feodorovna Rostopchine, the Countess de Segur, in the late 1850s and early 1860s. The 20 novels she produced between 1857 and 1869 secured her a founding place in the tradition of French children's literature. The Fleurville Trilogy is one of the Countess's most popular works, which still today finds an enthusiastic audience among young readers.

General Fields

  • : 9780731815227
  • : Simon & Schuster Australia
  • : Simon & Schuster Australia
  • : 1.1
  • : July 2011
  • : 240mm X 148mm
  • : Australia
  • : November 2011
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 400
  • : Combin
  • : Paperback
  • : Comtesse De Segur