The Last Resort

Author(s): Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Fiction

'A very cool and intelligent writer' TLS

Delve into the world of Pamela Hansford Johnson in this tale of love, guilt and secrecy, perfect for fans of Barbara Pym and Elizabeth Jane Howard.

Writer Christine Hall's own loving relationships and empathetic intelligence make her the perfect confidante for a group of friends: architect Eric Aveling - whose wife Lois is dying, Junius Evans, Aveling's flamboyant business partner, and, above all, eccentric, impulsive Celia Baird. When death forces a realignment of relationships within the group even the perceptive Christine is not prepared for the final outcome.

Moving between London and a south coast seaside town, The Last Resort is a sensitive and vividly human exploration of the hidden side of marriage, where dark undercurrents of duty, guilt, secrecy and loneliness can all play a part in deviating the course of love and influencing the choices that life thrusts upon us.

'Miss Johnson is one of the most accomplished women writers' Kirkus

$20.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
1

Add to Cart

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781473679948
  • : Hodder & Stoughton
  • : Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
  • : October 2018
  • : 2.2 Centimeters X 13 Centimeters X 19.7 Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : Pamela Hansford-Johnson
  • : 352