The Final Empire (#1 Mistborn)

Author(s): Brandon Sanderson

Fantasy Science Fiction Horror

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, the Mistborn series is a heist story of political intrigue and magical, martial-arts action.

For a thousand years the ash fell and no flowers bloomed. For a thousand years the Skaa slaved in misery and lived in fear. For a thousand years the Lord Ruler, the "Sliver of Infinity," reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror, divinely invincible. Then, when hope was so long lost that not even its memory remained, a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa rediscovered it in the depths of the Lord Ruler's most hellish prison.

Kelsier "snapped" and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate caper, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark. Kelsier recruited the underworld's elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom shares one of his many powers, and all of whom relish a high-stakes challenge. Only then does he reveal his ultimate dream, not just the greatest heist in history, but the downfall of the divine despot. But even with the best criminal crew ever assembled, Kel's plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life.

Like him, she's a half-Skaa orphan, but she's lived a much harsher life. Vin has learned to expect betrayal from everyone she meets, and gotten it. She will have to learn to trust, if Kel is to help her master powers of which she never dreamed.

This saga dares to ask a simple question: What if the hero of prophecy fails?

Other Tor books by Brandon Sanderson The Cosmere; The Stormlight Archive; The Way of Kings; Words of Radiance; Edgedancer (Novella); Oathbringer (forthcoming). The Mistborn trilogy: Mistborn: The Final Empire; The Well of Ascension; The Hero of Ages. Mistborn: The Wax and Wayne series: Alloy of Law; Shadows of Self; Bands of Mourning. Arcanum Unbounded.

Other: Cosmere novels: Elantris; Warbreaker. The Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians series: Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians; The Scrivener's Bones; The Knights of Crystallia; The Shattered Lens; The Dark Talent. The Rithmatist series: The Rithmatist

Other books by Brandon Sanderson: The Reckoners; Steelheart; Firefight; Calamity.


Available Stock:
On Order:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

What if the Dark Lord won? An acclaimed epic commercial fantasy comes to the UK for the first time.

Brandon Sanderson grew up in Lincoln, Nebraska. He teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University and lives, with his wife, in Utah. His Mistborn trilogy has become an international publishing success.

General Fields

  • : 9780575089914
  • : Orion Publishing Group, Limited
  • : Gollancz
  • : 0.46
  • : August 2009
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 40mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 672
  • : Paperback
  • : Brandon Sanderson