The Girl Before

Author(s): J. P. Delaney

Crime Thriller Mystery

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in Cabin 10, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman's seemingly good fortune, and another woman's mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception.

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD

Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.

The request seems odd, even intrusive--and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.

EMMA
Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant--and it does.

JANE
After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space--and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home's previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.

Praise for The Girl Before

"Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning--a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense."--Lee Child

"The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . [J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we're not provided either woman's answers."--The New York Times

"J. P. Delaney builds the suspense."--Vanity Fair

"Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there's not only more where that came from, but it's also more thrilling."--American Booksellers Association

$19.99(AUD)

Albert Park
Available Stock:
1
Elsternwick
Available Stock:
1
Richmond
Available Stock:
0

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

One of the best thrillers you'll read in 2017 * New York Journal of Books * JP Delaney builds the suspense * Vanity Fair * Ingenious * The New York Times * The Girl Before is a cat-and-mouse game that toys with our expectations and twists our sympathies. At times almost unbearably suspenseful, it keeps us guessing from the first page to the very last. Don't miss it * Joseph Finder * An outstanding debut that is more than a match for Paula Hawkins's The Girl on the Train * Sunday Times * A great thriller and one that instantly hooks you in, in the very first line, and never lets you go . . . utterly compelling and very satisfying . . . A wonderful portrayal of psychological obsession at its creepy best * Peter James for Big Issue North * The Girl Before is more than worthy of the accolades . . . a complex triangle of twisted obsession . . . say goodbye to your nails * Boundless Magazine * A crisp psychological thriller * Sainsbury's Magazine * The plotting is exceptionally well thought-through * Irish Independent * Superior psychological suspense . . . a cleverly constructed thriller * The Bookseller * A masterfully crafted spellbinder . . . guaranteed to astonish * Booklist * A guaranteed best-seller * Prima * Riveting . . . Writing with precision and grace, Delaney strips away the characters' secrets until the raw truth of each is revealed * Publishers Weekly * Genuinely eerie . . . beautifully handled . . . the pages fly * USA Today * The most intriguing plot idea I've seen in a good while * The Spectator * A guaranteed best-seller * Red Magazine * Enthralling * Woman and Home * Constantly cranking up the suspense . . . a thoroughly satisfying read * Reader's Digest * The Girl Before is deservedly anointed the 'top girl' of this season's suspense novels * The Washington Post * A compulsive, sexy thriller that's set to soar * Glamour Magazine Online * Creepy . . . The buzz around this could not be fizzier * Heat * Get hooked on this hair-raiser about a woman who scores what seems like her dream home . . . until she finds out the mysterious fate of the previous tenant * Cosmopolitan * Original and brilliantly written * The Sun * A deeply addictive literary thriller that deserves to be one of this year's biggest successes * Daily Express * Original and entertaining * The Times * Slick, sexy, suspenseful and smart * Mail on Sunday * Riveting! One of the most compelling page-turners I've read in years. Twisty, turny, and with an ending not to be missed! * Lisa Gardner * The tension is built up subtly, leading to a devastating climax. A really clever thriller . . . [the film] will no doubt become the third big 'Girl' film * Daily Mail * Dazzling - a pitch-perfect thriller * Lee Child * A remarkably poised (debut) psychological thriller * The Sunday Times * I was instantly gripped and held captivated by the pace and elegant writing. I devoured it in two straight sittings * Peter James * This is going to be the buzziest book of 2017 . . . This year The Girl Before will be that book * InStyle *

The Girl Before is the first psychological thriller from JP Delaney, a pseudonym for a writer who has previously written bestselling fiction under other names. It is being published in thirty-five countries. A film version is being brought to the screen by Academy Award-winning director Ron Howard.

General Fields

  • : 9781786480262
  • : Quercus
  • : Quercus
  • : January 2018
  • : 19.80 cmmm X 12.90 cmmm X 3.60 cmmm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : January 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 448
  • : 1
  • : Paperback